>   General-Knowledge-Articles  >   01-a-Egyptian-Info


Fact Book

Political Division and Principle Cities



Egypt is divided for administrative purposes into 26 governorates. The capital and largest city is Cairo, which has an estimated population (1992 estimate) of about 6,800,000. Other important cities, with 1992 estimated populations, include Alexandria, the principal port (3,380,000); Giza, an industrial center near Cairo (2,144,000); Port Said, at the Mediterranean entrance to the Suez Canal (460,000); and Suez, the southern terminus of the canal (388,000).


© : Saint Takla Haymanout Website: General Portal for the Coptic Orthodox Church Faith, Egypt / Contact us at:

Bible | Daily Readings | Agbeya | Books | Lyrics | Gallery | Media | Links | Contact us