The Holy Bible

1 Samuel 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08
09 10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31

Samuel, Books of -

  • The LXX. translators regarded the books of Samuel and of Kings as forming one continuous history, which they divided into four books, which they called "Books of the Kingdom."
  • The Vulgate version followed this division, but styled them "Books of the Kings." These books of Samuel they accordingly called the "First" and "Second" Books of Kings, and not, as
  • in the modern Protestant versions, the "First" and "Second" Books of Samuel.

The authors of the books of Samuel were probably Samuel, Gad, and Nathan.

  • Samuel penned the first twenty-four chapters of the first book.
  • Gad, the companion of David (1 Sam. 22:5), continued the history thus commenced; and
  • Nathan completed it, probably arranging the whole in the form in which we now have it (1 Chr. 29:29).
The contents of the books.
  • The first book comprises a period of about a hundred years, and nearly coincides with the life of Samuel. It contains
    1. the history of Eli (1-4);
    2. the history of Samuel (5-12);
    3. the history of Saul, and of David in exile (13-31).
  • The second book, comprising a period of perhaps fifty years, contains a history of the reign of David
    1. over Judah (1-4), and
    2. over all Israel (5-24), mainly in its political aspects.
  • The last four chapters of Second Samuel may be regarded as a sort of appendix recording various events, but not chronologically. These books do not contain complete histories. Frequent gaps are met with in the record, because their object is to present a history of the kingdom of God in its gradual development, and not of the events of the reigns of the successive rulers. It is noticeable that the section (2 Sam. 11:2-12: 29) containing an account of David's sin in the matter of Bathsheba is omitted in the corresponding passage in 1 Chr. 20.


Opening page

Return to previous page.